Babes in the Wood

For twenty six years the public believed that two children found dead in Epping Forest in 1970 had died of exposure. Then in 1996 a convicted child murderer, Ronald Jebson, called police from Wakefield Prison – he had information about the murder of the Babes in the Wood.

Murder Case Book Files

Season 3
Season 2
Season 3
  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E01 - Patrick Mackay - The Psychopath

    Fred Dinenage follows the extraordinary tale of serial killer Patrick Mackay, who savagely murdered more than three people in cold blood. Certified a psychopath at 15, could these murders have been prevented if the authorities had stepped in earlier?

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E02 - Archibald Hall - Monster Butler

    Fred Dinenage investigates one of Scotland’s most enigmatic serial killers – Archibald Hall known as the Monster Butler. Hall’s lust for a luxurious lifestyle turned him from a conman and jewellery thief into a callous murderer.

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E03 - The Mystery of Lord Lucan

    Fred Dinenage looks back over the life of Lord Lucan; the aristocratic figure whose glamorous life became tainted by murder, mistaken identity and events that would launch the biggest manhunt in British history.

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E04 - John Straffen - Longest Serving Prisoner

    Fred Dinenage looks back over the life of John Straffen; at the age of 21 he strangled two little girls but escaped the hangman’s noose due to his low IQ of just 58. After six months at Broadmoor Straffen escaped and committed a third murder on another young girl in a local village.

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E05 - Mary Bell

    Fred Dinenage examines the brutal crimes of Child Killer Mary Bell. At just 11 years old Mary Bell shocked the country when she was convicted of strangling two young boys aged just 3 and 4. What made this child commit such horrific acts and can children who have murdered change?

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E06 - Peter Manuel

    Fred Dinenage examines the horrific murders performed by Scottish serial killer Peter Manuel. Manuel was hanged at the age of 31, convicted of 7 murders but suspected of many more. He was a cold ruthless killer with no motive and an incontrollable rage… who just wanted to be the centre of attention.

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E07 - The Cannock Chase Murders

    During the 1960s, fear spread through the local community of Cannock Chase. Children were being snatched from the streets, sexually assaulted and murdered. Fred Dinenage re investigates the brutal killings that sparked one of the biggest manhunts in police history, and led to the conviction of Raymond Leslie Morris.

  • Fred Dineage Murder Case Book S02 E08 - The Blackout Ripper

    Fred Dinenage looks back over the life and crimes of RAF cadet Gordon Cummins. During the London Blitz of 1942, terror stalked the war torn streets. It was not just the horror of German bombs falling from the sky… the fear was created by a spree killer. In just one week four women were brutally killed and two women attacked. Not since Jack the Ripper had there been such a gruesome spate of murders…earning Cummins the title... The Blackout Ripper..

This site employs cookies to improve your user experience. They also collect and analyze information to help us improve its overall performance. Learn more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use this site or by closing this banner, you consent to our use of these cookies.
Learn more